Article Image Alt Text
Photo by Sue Watson
Poll workers ready for voters Tuesday morning at Waterford are (from left) Elmira Marion, Leanne Stacks, Gloria Marion, Karen Green and Penne Robinson. By 10 a.m., 95 had voted. There are about 700 registered in the precinct.

Thomas, Dickerson re-elected

• Autry, Glass go to runoff for circuit clerk

A pair of incumbents in countywide races cruised to victory in Tuesday night’s Democratic Primary.

Chuck Thomas was reelected to his fifth term as chancery clerk, getting 67.91 percent of the vote.

Kenny Dickerson was reelected to his seventh term as sheriff, getting 58.21 percent of the vote.

There will be runoffs in a few races, including circuit clerk. Monet Bell Autry and Patricia Penilton Glass will meet in the August 27 Democratic Primary Runoff. Autry received 31.89 percent of the vote and Glass 29.21 percent.

Circuit clerk Lucy Carpenter is not seeking re-election. She is wrapping up her 11th term (44 years).

Unofficial totals from the August 6 Democratic Primary include:

• Chancery clerk – incumbent C.W. “Chuck” Thomas Jr., 4,728; Jamarr “Jack” Walton, 2,225.

• Circuit clerk – Monet Bell Autry, 2,281; Patricia Penilton Glass, 2,089; Belinda Sims Hollowell 1,531; Conway Robinson Moore, 1,246.

• Sheriff – incumbent Kenny Dickerson, 4,226; Antjuan Lester, 3,026.

• Supervisor, District 1 – Don Cothern, 220; Goston “Redd” Glover, 402 (27.38 percent); incumbent Charles E. Terry, 535 (36.44 percent); Danny Warren, 310.

• Supervisor, District 2 – incumbent Eddie D. Dixon, 1,075 (68.43 percent); Glenn Payne, 121; John I. Seldon Sr.,


• Supervisor, District 3 – Terry Rodgers, 247; incumbent Keith Taylor, 737.

• Supervisor, District 4 – Ricky R. Jones, 253; Marvin Lucas, 306; incumbent George Zinn III, 820 (59.38 percent).

• Justice Court Judge North – incumbent Mae Garrison, 2,218; Jivaro “Bo” Jones, 1,080.

• Justice Court Judge South – Cathy Elliott Brittenum, 1,796 (48.80 percent); Kent B. Falkner, 738; Gary K. Looney, 1,144 (31.09 percent).

Judge Ernest Cunningham did not seek re-election.

• Constable North – Leon Cothern, 702; Joe Cunningham, 943 (28.45 percent); incumbent Michael Perkins, 1,372 (41.39 percent); Christopher Sisk, 295.

• Constable South – Thomas “Tommy” Crouch, 1,324 (38.29 percent); Falando Marion, 1,232 (35.63 percent); Kenneth McMullen,


• State Senate District 10 (results from Marshall County only) – Alicia Blanks, 458; Michael Cathey, 853; Andre R. DeBerry, 2,714; Carlton E. Smith, 1,340.

• State House of Representatives, District 5 – incumbent John Faulkner, 2,429

(56.45 percent); Carl Robinson, 557; Jacqueline Simon, 1,310.

Some unopposed candidates were also on the Democratic Primary ballot, plus some statewide and other district races. The county favored Jim Hood for the Democratic nomination for governor.

Local candidates on the Republican Primary Election ballot were unopposed.

There were competitive races on the Republican Primary ballot for statewide races like governor, lieutenant governor and attorney general, plus transportation commissioner. The county favored Tate Reeves for the Republican nomination for governor.

Holly Springs native Lynn Fitch had a pair of opponents in the Republican primary race for attorney general. She got 44.66 percent of the vote in her home county.

Voter turnout in Marshall County for the primary was low – 38.29 percent.

Carpenter said the election process went well, with the exception of some confusion over voters selecting either a Democratic or Republican ballot.

Runoffs, Democratic and Republican, are August 27. The General Election is November 5.

Holly Springs South Reporter

P.O. Box 278
Holly Springs, MS 38635
PH: (662) 252-4261
FAX: (662) 252-3388

Web Archive