Kelvin Buck (Left) Andre DeBerry (Right)

Runoff Tuesday in mayor’s race

The Holly Springs mayor’s race will be decided next Tuesday, May 16.

On the runoff ballot will be the current mayor,  Kelvin Buck, and the previous mayor, Andre DeBerry.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the Eddie Lee Smith Multi-Purpose Building.

Absentee voting is now available at city hall. The deadline to vote absentee in person is this Saturday, May 13, at 12 noon.

The city’s aldermen were decided during last week’s primary. Four are incumbents – alderman at-large Tim Liddy, Ward 1’s Bernita Fountain-Lowe, Ward 3’s Mark Miller and Ward 4’s Christy Owens. New to the board will be Lennell Lucas, representing Ward 2. Incumbent Sharon Gipson did not seek re-election.

All candidates (mayor and aldermen) ran as Demo­crats. There will be no general election.

The four-year term for city elected officials will begin July 1.

Anyone with questions about the upcoming runoff election for mayor can contact the city clerk’s office at 252-4652, ext. 1202.

Holly Springs South Reporter

P.O. Box 278
Holly Springs, MS 38635
PH: (662) 252-4261
FAX: (662) 252-3388

Web Archive