Runoff for superintendent

Two local races are headed for a runoff – Marshall County superintendent of education and school board member, District 2.

Unofficial totals from Tuesday night showed Carrie Skelton with 3,729 votes (42.28 percent) and Lela Smith Hale with 3,266 (37.03 percent). They will face each other November 29. Wanda Dawkins-Richmond had 1,813 votes (20.56 percent).

The special election was necessary after the resignation of Jerry Moore a few months ago.

Senate Bill 2438 was signed into law earlier this year by Gov. Phil Bryant. It requires that all Mississippi school superintendents be appointed (by local school boards), rather than elected, but that doesn’t take effect until 2019.

In the runoff for school board are Robert J. “Bob” Barry, 769 votes (41.43 percent) and incumbent Harvey L. Garrison, 592 votes (31.90 percent). Fannie Coleman Sims received 492 votes (26.51 percent).

Marshall Countians favored the Democratic candidates for president and vice president of the United States. In the county, the ticket of Hillary Clinton and Tim Kaine received 53.89 percent of the vote.

Republican candidates Donald Trump and Michael Pence garnered 44.26 percent of the vote in the county.

Statewide, Trump was the winner. Nationally, Trump was leading in electoral votes at press-time.

Other unofficial totals from Marshall County included – for U.S. House of Representatives, 1st Congressional District – incumbent Trent Kelly, 6,642 votes; Jacob Owens, 6,451; Cathy L. Toole, 307; and Chase Wilson, 294.  

Kelly coasted to an easy win districtwide.

And county results in the race for Supreme Court Justice, District 3 (Northern) Position 1, were Bobby Chamberlin, 4,543; John Brady, 3,507; Steve Crampton, 1,668; and James T. “Jim” Kitchens Jr., 1,328. That race, districtwide, appeared headed to a runoff.

Circuit clerk Lucy Carpenter reported a 67 percent voter turnout and a smooth election. About 1,300 absentee ballots were cast.

Holly Springs South Reporter

P.O. Box 278
Holly Springs, MS 38635
PH: (662) 252-4261
FAX: (662) 252-3388

Web Archive