Five qualify to run for Senate

• Absentee voting underway

Five candidates have qualified to run for state senator.

They are Michael Cathey, Sharon D. Gipson, Lennell “Big Luke” Lucas, Ray Minor and Neil S. Whaley.

A special election will be held Tuesday, Nov. 7, to fill the vacant State Senate, District 10, position.

Bill Stone resigned as senator the last week of July to become the general manager of the Holly Springs Utility Department.

If no candidate receives a majority of the votes cast in the special election, then a runoff election will be held Tuesday, Nov. 28.

District 10 covers most of Marshall County, except for Barton, Byhalia, Cayce, North Cayce, Victoria and the far northwest part of Red Banks. It includes all of Tate County.

Absentee voting is now available in person at the Marshall County circuit clerk’s office. Office hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

For more information on the upcoming special election, call the circuit clerk’s office, 252-3434.

Holly Springs South Reporter

P.O. Box 278
Holly Springs, MS 38635
PH: (662) 252-4261
FAX: (662) 252-3388

Web Archive