Thursday, March 9, 2006

Local News Briefs

Holly Springs School District plans board meeting March 9

The regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Holly Springs School District, usually scheduled for the second Tuesday of each month, has been scheduled for Thursday, March 9. The meeting will begin at 6 p.m. and will be held in the Central Office Boardroom, 840 Highway 178 East, Holly Springs.

Holly Springs School District plans board meeting March 9

The Holly Springs Chamber of Commerce will host its winter luncheon Thursday, March 9, from 11:45 a.m. to 1 p.m. at Annie’s Restaurant. Guest speaker will be Sydney Gray with TeleHealth, plus there will be a report on the state of the chamber. Tickets are $10 each for chamber members and $12 for prospective members.

Candidates qualify for U.S. Senate, House positions

Wednesday, March 1, was the deadline for Mississippi candidates to qualify to run for U.S. Senate and U.S. House of Representatives in 2006.

The Democratic Party will conduct a primary election on June 6 to select nominees for the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. A run-off election will be held, if necessary, on June 27. There will not be a Republican Party primary election since no more than one candidate qualified for each office. The general election will be held on November 7.

Mississippians will also elect some court of appeals judges this year, as well as all chancery and circuit court judges. Judicial candidates do not run in party primaries. The qualifying deadline for judicial candidates is May 5, and all candidates will qualify with the Secretary of State’s Office.

The following list of candidates is based on information provided by the parties at the close of business, Wednesday, March 1.

U.S. Senate – Bill Bowlin of Hickory Flat (Democrat), Erik Fleming of Clinton (Democrat), Trent Lott of Pascagoula (Republican), James O’Keefe of Long Beach (Democrat), Catherine M. Starr of Hattiesburg (Democrat), Harold M. Taylor of Nesbit (Libertarian).

U.S. House, First Congressional District – William Bambach of Columbus (Democrat), Joe Forsythe Jr. of Horn Lake (Democrat), James K. “Ken” Hutt of Verona (Democrat), Ron Shapiro of Oxford (Democrat), Roger F. Wicker of Tupelo (Republican).

Mississippians: few days left to apply for disaster help

March 11 is the last day new applications will be accepted for disaster assistance through the Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Mississippi residents and business owners in the 49 disaster-declared counties who sustained damage due to Hurricane Katrina have just a few days left to apply for disaster assistance from FEMA.

Call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or go online at

Report News: (662) 252-4261 or
Questions, comments, corrections:
2004, The South Reporter, All Rights Reserved.
No part of this site may be reproduced in any way without permission.
The South Reporter is a member of the Mississippi Press Association.

Web Site managed and maintained by
South Reporter webmasters Linda Jones, Kristian Jones
Web Site Design - The South Reporter

Back | Top of Page