Thursday, February 17, 2005


Galena School honor roll for second nine weeks

Principal’s List

First Grade, Mrs. Dobbs, Ms. James: Ashley Birmingham, Sherita Brownlee, Jakayle Davis, Jaylen Echols, Logan Smothers, Kayla Wooten

First Grade, Ms. Plunk: Keondic Harris

Second Grade, Carol Jones: Chiquilla Rucker, Latrivous Jones, Courtney Grimes, Demetria Blackmon, Jessica Carlile, KeDabrean Davis

Second Grade, Mrs. Robertson: Darrius Blackmon, Eric Churchill, Corey Grimes, Tearrica Martin, Kimberly Reed

Third Grade, Mrs. J.B. Bing: Jameika Agnew, Aleasha Brownlee

Fourth Grade, Martha Jones: Zsa Xhani Davis, Cierra Howell, Kiana McCray, Daivon Milan, Ashley Richmond

Fifth Grade, Kathy Dye: Coraunta Martin, Jessica Newsome, Brandon Rayford, Kianna Sessom, Jordan Stewart, Zinna Woods

Sixth Grade, Kimberly Jackson: Nyisha Harris

Seventh Grade, Porche Frizell: Iesha Adams, Annecsa Walker

Eighth Grade, Melissa Johnson: Jessica Lloyd, Alicia Mosley, Lakimberly Powers

Superintendent’s List: Roger Harmon (Carol Jones); Ryan Thompson (Kenji Wells)

Honor Roll: Frederick Jackson, Courtney Todd, Ashley Kirkwood, Ivory Thompson, Myesha Jones

Mary Reid/ICS 4-K registration

Mary Reid/ICS 4-K registration will be Tuesday, March 1, 8:30 a.m. - 2 p.m. and Thursday, March 3, 3 p.m. - 6 p.m. This is a blended program with the ICS Head Start. Children 4 years old by Sept. 1, 2001 are eligible. Class size is limited to 20. It is not first come, first serve. To register you must bring the following items: 1. your child (for testing) 2. child’s birth certificate 3. child’s Social Security card 4. two proofs of residency 5. parent’s Social Security card 6. child’s insurance card 7. 121 form (shot record) and 8. proof of annual income. If you have any questions please call 662-333-7774 or 662-333-7057.

ICS, Inc. pre-school recruitment announcement

As a public service, ICS, Inc., Project Head Start announces its annual recruitment drive for pre-school age children for the 2005-2006 program year.

To be eligible for participation, a child must be three or four years old on or before September 1, 2005.

The formal recruitment drive runs from January 1 until April 1, 2005. If your child already has an application and is on the Waiting List for openings, check with your local center and be sure the application is current and complete. ICS now must retain income information copies and you may need to submit these.

Children will be selected for next fall in April/May of this year. Do not wait until the summer to apply. If your child is currently enrolled in Early Head Start you must complete a different application for Head Start.

When applying, the parent/guardian must present the following items:

  1. Certified birth certificate;
  2. Immunization report #121 from the MS Health Dept. or your family physician;
  3. Copy of the child’s Social Security card;
  4. Proof of the family’s gross yearly income either for the last tax year or the past 12 months (tax forms, pay stubs, etc.);
  5. Copy of child’s Medicaid or C.H.I.P. insurance if applicable;
  6. Social Security number for head of household.

To complete an application or obtain further information, contact your local Head Start Center. Applications are available and may be picked up at any ICS Head Start Center.

Please allow time for a review of the forms with Family Services when returning forms. Forms may be completed on site. Staff members are available for assistance.

If you need further information you may contact ICS Family Services at our administrative offices at 160 West Valley Street in Holly Springs, or call (662) 252-1582/1583, ext. 139 or 104.

Parents of all age-eligible children are encouraged to apply.

Although lower wealth families may be given preference for selection, Head Start is a wonderful program for all children who receive the opportunity to participate.

Complete the application in order to give your child the best chance for selection. Parents of children with special needs are highly encouraged to apply. Children with diagnosed disabilities may be able to enter Head Start earlier than other children.

ICS does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, gender, national origin or disability.

Ole Miss lists honor students

The following students from this area were listed on the Chancellor’s and Dean’s Honor Roll at the Univeristy of Mississippi for the fall 2004 semester.

Dean’s List
Amie Yarbrough Coker, Pamela Diane Hunt, Jason Guy Miller, Candace Renae Payne, Ragan Ayana Shipp, Lori Ann Simpson, Christy Marie Woods, all of Byhalia; Jason Bowie Burch, Jeremiah Jerome Hampton, Angela Renee Mock, Margaret Hamilton Seale, all of Holly Springs
Chancellor’s List
Susan Elizabeth Hamblin, Larry Joe Thompson, both of Byhalia; Susan Elizabeth Allen, Jessica Clarice Ayers, Amy Elizabeth Burch, Roniesha T. Davis, Monique Kandrel Hicks, Jorja Lee Hill, Corretha Delsha Ingram, Charita Marie James, Carnice Yvette James, Jean Marie King, Matthew Louis Loftin, Allen Ryves Moore, Jessica Lee Miller Turner, all of Holly Springs; Heath Reed Stevens of Potts Camp

Report News: (662) 252-4261 or
Questions, comments, corrections:
2004, The South Reporter, All Rights Reserved.
No part of this site may be reproduced in any way without permission.
The South Reporter is a member of the Mississippi Press Association.

Web Site managed and maintained by
South Reporter webmasters Linda Jones, Kristian Jones
Web Site Design - The South Reporter

Back | Top of Page