Thursday, December 29, 2005

Hawks named all-district


The Holly Springs football team made history on the field in 2005, and the successful season has led to individual honors for several players.

The Hawks won a state playoff game for the first time in school history.

They finished 6-6 under the leadership of head coach Clifford Brown. They were ousted from the playoffs by Charleston, which finished as state runner-up in Class 3A.

Holly High athletes named to the All-District 3-3A First Team Offense were running back Marcell Johnson, lineman Darryl Ayers, wide receiver Courtney Bowen and tight end LeCorey Jones.

Selected to the All-District First Team Defense from Holly Springs were lineman Marvin Lucas, linebacker Jeremy Boyd and defensive back Marcus Isom.

Other members of the First Team Offense include: most valuable player Davell Jackson (Senatobia); quarterback Taylor Walker (Senatobia); running back Ronnie Ferrell (Water Valley); lineman Kevin West (Water Valley); lineman L.V. Jones (M.S. Palmer); lineman Quentin Saulsberry (Independence); lineman Adrian Wright (Senatobia); and wide receiver Otis Mays (Independence).

Other members of the First Team Defense include: most valuable player Brandon Phillips (Senatobia); lineman Kerrington Daniels (Water Valley); defensive end Antonio Hoskins (Water Valley); defensive end Ivan Sandridge (Senatobia); linebacker Shannon Crowe (Water Valley); linebacker Courtney Williamson (Senatobia); linebacker Michael Cothern (Independence); defensive back Jarrus Webb (Senatobia); and defensive back Jason Langdon (Water Valley).

Several Holly Springs High School Hawks were named to the Honorable Mention list. They are Rasheed DeBerry, Alex Anderson, Jonathan Jones, Loren Coleman, Courtney Rayford, Earick Carter, Marlon Crittle, Chris Bridgeforth, Pierre Thomas, Cordell Stephens and Kendrick Duncan.

Report News: (662) 252-4261 or
Questions, comments, corrections:
2004, The South Reporter, All Rights Reserved.
No part of this site may be reproduced in any way without permission.
The South Reporter is a member of the Mississippi Press Association.

Web Site managed and maintained by
South Reporter webmasters Linda Jones, Kristian Jones
Web Site Design - The South Reporter

Back | Top of Page