Thursday, July 14, 2005

Hawks playing in all-star matchup
• Hayes also coaching North team


Holly Springs High School will be well represented in state all-star competition Thursday, July 14.

Hawks Clevin Hannah and Brandon Ayers will be joined by their coach, Naylond Hayes, in the 51st annual Mississippi Association of Coaches All-Star Boys’ Basketball Game in Clinton.

Hayes and Luther Riley of Provine are the coaches for the North team. Joining the 5’11” Hannah and the 6’3” Ayers on the North roster are Chad Akins of Madison Central, Mario Casey of Provine, Cordario Calvin of Greenville-Weston, Chris Hyche of Provine, Al Graham of Lanier, Solomon Bozeman of Oxford, Buck Johnson of Ripley, Chris Leggett of Meridian, Brandon McCoy of Greenville-Weston and Derrick Bails of Ripley.

Hayes will be coaching his first all-star game.

“It’s an honor to be selected by your peers (all the coaches from North Mississippi),” he said. “If your peers think you’re worthy, it means a lot. I’m thankful for the opportunity.”

Practices were scheduled to start on Tuesday of this week.

“You can’t do a lot of teaching in two days, but we will do the best we can,” Hayes said. “These are all very talented players, some of the best in the state. You want to try to get them to play team basketball as much as you can in an all-star game. Win or lose, we will have fun.”

He also said he is looking forward to having two of his Hawks on the all-star squad. He said both Hannah and Ayers, who will be seniors at Holly High, are well deserving of the recognition.

The Hawks have won back-to-back Class 3A state championships.

The All-Star Boys’ Basketball Game, sponsored by Mississippi Sports Medicine, tips off at 8 p.m. at A.E. Wood Coliseum on the campus of Mississippi College.

General admission tickets are $5.

The South boys’ roster includes Corey Breland of Perry Central, Darius Hart of Poplarville, Terrence Hall of Harrison Central, Jonathan Boyd of Durant, Fred Sanders of Jim Hill, Rodney Gray of Natchez, Regis Huddleston of Bay Springs, Phillip Holmes of Williams-Sullivan, Luther Suggs of Gulfport, David Howard of Wayne County, Andre Stephens of Heidelberg and Ludovic Dovonou of St. Stanislaus. Coaches for the South are Fred Harris of Jim Hill and Ronald Norman of Bay Springs.

The 41st annual All-Star Girls’ Basketball Game starts the competition at 6:30 p.m.

Area players on the girls North roster include Lauren Burgess of Water Valley, Anna Lyles of Kossuth, Erica Grayson of Corinth, Hope Adams of Oxford and Yadi Martin of Ripley. Coaches are Jason McKay of Baldwyn of Brady Ramey of Itawamba AHS.

Report News: (662) 252-4261 or
Questions, comments, corrections:
2004, The South Reporter, All Rights Reserved.
No part of this site may be reproduced in any way without permission.
The South Reporter is a member of the Mississippi Press Association.

Web Site managed and maintained by
South Reporter webmasters Linda Jones, Kristian Jones
Web Site Design - The South Reporter

Back | Top of Page