Thursday, June 16, 2005

Community draws close for cancer relay

Staff Writer

Holly Springs did not let rain dampen its spirit at the 2005 Relay For Life benefit for the American Cancer Society, Friday night.

And no one pushed back from team efforts at fund raising. The goal of $40,000 was met Monday when late turn-ins brought the total to $40,128.34. More is expected, according to Lisa Liddy, with the Relay committee.

Total funds collected at the official tally hour — midnight Friday — came to $38,858.34, Liddy said. Contributions to the Relay are accepted year around and can be turned in to Liddy. The new fund-raising year begins September 1.

Carlisle’s Big Star was the number one fund raiser this year, followed by Parker Hannifin.

There was much to be enjoyed and shared at the Relay — entertainment, support, food, games, fellowship, prayer and a rainbow to top it all off after a brief shower that delayed the beginning of the survivor’s walk.

“Participation and spending the night were better this year,” said survivor Mary Ann Day. This is the first time it’s ever rained and we were the only spot on the map.”

Liddy said the miracle this year was “that it rained and they stayed. Nobody complained after it rained. And they were able to get those luminaria up and burning.”

The highlight of the night for Connie Mason was Sonja Brooks’ solo, “One Moment in Time.”

The opening solo, “You Raise Me Up,” was sung by Carol Jean Taylor.

The Relay was opened with welcoming remarks by Rodney Whaley of Potts Camp.

“Welcome to Marshall County/Holly Springs Relay For Life,” he said. “We are here for those who survived cancer and in memory of those who did not survive and to excite the minds of those working for the cure.”

Holly Springs Mayor Andre’ DeBerry encouraged participants to “walk until we can’t walk any more. We will let you give out, but never give up,” he said.

The Holly Springs High School Female Ensemble sang the National Anthem and Georgia Bain read the survivor’s pledge.

The Relay committee reported forty survivors who signed in or attended.

Eddie Boatwright, Ollie Burch, Veda Cook, Mary Ann Day, Eileen Dowsing, Mary Walker Gatewood, Gwen Gill, Judy Gorden, Jessie Griffin, Cherriel Hall, Rosemary Brown, Christil Hamilton, Wanda Holbrook, Karee Heath, Bud Holbrook, Christie Humphrey, Ralph Isom, Kathy Ritts Jamieson, Margie Jamieson, Keni Landers, Lisa Liddy, Candace Logue, Mable Mayfield, Georgia Miller, Lynn McCallum, Ruth Ann Prather, Billy Phillips, Paula Rhodes, Ira Shipp, Monnie Mae Sims, Brenda Smith, Polly Stradley, Frances Thomas, Lois Swanee, Pearle Whitlock, Vernelle Winter, Jessie Jackson, Bernice Jackson, Olivia Smith and Sonja Brooks.

Sixty-five luminaria in honor of a loved one were purchased and 115 in memory luminaria were purchased totalling $2,690 in contributions for the cure.

Luminaria workers on event night were Frances Underwood, Julia Williams, Chavita Kimmons, Mary Hicks and her 4-H Club, Monica Govan, Kevin Govan, and J. Michael Culbreth.

Twenty-four teams participated in fund raising – Big Star Baggers; Parker Hannifin; Alliance HealthCare System; Anderson Chapel CME; Asbury United Methodist Youth and Young Adults; Asbury United Methodist Men; City Slickers (city employees); Delta Tau Sigma-Phi Beta Sigma; First State Bank; First United Methodist Church Holly Springs; Holly Springs/Marshall County Rust Club; Holly Springs Police Department; Hopewell #1; Liddy’s Health Mart; Marshall County Tax Collector/Assessor Offices; Omega Phi Psi; Powell Chapel Church; Reid’s Gift Baptist Church; The South Reporter; St. Matthew’s Church; Trinity Mission; Wal-Mart; Watson World; and Zeta Upsilon Zeta-Zeta Phi Beta.

Many church and school groups and individuals contributed to the entertainment, but names of all the groups were not available. Many groups made impromptu performances.

Report News: (662) 252-4261 or
Questions, comments, corrections:
2004, The South Reporter, All Rights Reserved.
No part of this site may be reproduced in any way without permission.
The South Reporter is a member of the Mississippi Press Association.

Web Site managed and maintained by
South Reporter webmasters Linda Jones, Kristian Jones
Web Site Design - The South Reporter

Back | Top of Page