Thursday, June 16, 2005


Marshall Academy seniors enjoy school’s first Project Graduation


The 2005 graduating class at Marshall Academy started what headmaster Tommy Gunn hopes becomes a tradition.

The school’s first-ever Project Graduation, an all-night, alcohol and drug free celebration for the seniors only, was held following graduation ceremonies.

“It works,” said Gunn, who also initiated the program at Lee Academy and Fayette Academy. “It’s a safe night, and the seniors leave school on a positive note. It’s good worthwhile, wholesome fun.”

He said the parents of the 2005 class spearheaded the Project Graduation effort, which included raising a lot of funds.

Parent Pam Thomas said approximately $7,500 was raised through things like program and t-shirt sales during the North Half Basketball Tournament, a spaghetti supper and business donations.

“It took a lot of parents’ involvement,” Thomas said. “It was a team effort.”

The seniors met in the cafeteria following graduation in the gymnasium with the parents. No alcohol or tobacco products were allowed.

“The kids knew nothing about the plans,” Thomas said. “No one knew where we were going. The key is keeping it a secret – don’t tell anybody.”

The activities this year began with an egg hunt in the dark on the football field. The seniors were given flashlights, and there were lots of prizes.

They then boarded the MA bus, decorated for the occasion.

Next was a steak dinner at City Cafe McA Style, before leaving for FunQuest in Collierville, Tenn., for cosmic bowling and laser tag.

They were then bused to Summer Avenue in Memphis for putt putt golf, games, go-kart riding, bumper boats, batting cages and more fun activities.

At 4 a.m., they were in downtown Memphis, outside the new FedEx Forum, taking photos and playing games.

Before arriving back at Marshall Academy, they enjoyed a scavenger hunt at a local business.

All seniors left with lots of smiles and lots of memories, plus lots of goodies. Each senior who went received a 20” color television, $50 gift certificate, floor lamp, clock radio, canvas bin and cordless telephone. There were lots of other prizes won during the night – including dorm size refrigerators, microwaves, electric grills, CD players and arm band radios.

“It’s hard to coordinate the first time, but our senior parents this year did a great job,” Gunn said. “The parents worked hard, and it was an opportunity for the class members to kick back and enjoy themselves as a group in a drug-free, alcohol-free environment.”

The first meeting about Project Graduation was held at the beginning of the school year, and the planning and fund-raising continued throughout the school year.

“It was a lot more fun than I ever expected.” – Boyce Hollingsworth

“I’m really glad we did it. It was so much fun and a night to always remember.” – Tiffany Thomas.

“I loved it. It was a great experience. It’s the last night you will be able to spend with your classmates, and it keeps you safe. I had a really good time.” – Thomas Carlisle.

Hugh O’Brien Youth Leadership

Among area students participating in the HOBY seminar in Jackson this year are Amanda Barstow of Potts Camp; Thomas Nabors of Holly High and Kim Shaw from Marshall Academy. In addition to attending the seminar, HOBY graduates are eligible for over 85 college and university scholarships across the nation. HOBY’s mission is to encourage high school sophomores to become active in volunteer activities to help improve their communities and to provide leadership development training for the students. HOBY sponsors in this area include the Holly Springs Rotary Club and MHA Health Careers Center.

H.W. Byers honor roll

Fourth Nine Weeks

Superintendent’s List

Kindergarten - B. Fly: Bryonna Campbell, Autumn Devore, Brandon Halley, Charlotte Pierce, Kennedy Ryan; B. McNamee: Kiara Allen, Ladarrius Mathis, LaQuinceara Nabors

First Grade - E. Robinson: Sydney Byrd, Walter Glover, Catria Martin, Briana Wilkins; M. Wilkins: Destiny Butler, Ryan Byrd, Sequettia Chairs, Danielle Churchill, Thomas Hill, Precious McClinton, Kyland Stephen, Yasmine Tucker

Second Grade - S. Garrison: Avery Bady, Khalyn Baker, Lanchai Collins, Shelby Dyer, Taylor Jones, Kimberly Millan, Katerria Moore, Keosha Seldon; V. Nunnally: Dominique Bryson, Jasmine Bryson, Abria Gulledge, Jared Hopper, Jesse Mills, Tyler Murphy, Jahkel Scott, Kendrick Smith; A. Williams: Miracle Jones, Davedra Pritchard

Third Grade - E. Ray: Laniqua Collins, Jequira Thompson; M. Taylor: Tiara Bryson, Jerry McBride; C. Turner: Brian Langston

Sixth Grade - D. Harris: Kimberly Young

Principal’s List

Kindergarten - B. Fly: Madison Allen, Angelica Barlow, Devonte Franklin, Stadajah Kizer, Amanda Moschella, Jonathan Wilson; Hunter; B. McNamee: Kelsey Brown, Devin Kennedy

First Grade - E. Robinson: Preston Leak, Morgan Shaw, Adrian Snow; M. Wilkins: Steven Gray, Dinesha Griggs, Quordevin Lewis

Second Grade - S. Garrison: Stephanie Gonzalez, Abram Goode, Allen Hernandez, Maisha Jones, Marcavious McKinney, Kayla Warren; V. Nunnally: Anterrious Chairs, Lindsey Kirk, Michael McKee, Monterrius Palmer, Lakeisha Reynolds, Shukara Wells; Karmilya Cleggins, Gesyca Darnell, Destani Jones, Kiara Riddle, Dana Walker, Arianna Wright

Third Grade - E. Ray: Hartley Elam, Tearney Jones, Savahn Jordan, Samantha Paris; M. Taylor: Kaitlyn Byrd, Christopher Penilton, Quentaisha Warren; C. Turner: Richenda Crutcher, Telisha Martin, Dalton Pritchard, Robin Reed, Alexandria Stephens, Shanadia Wells

Fourth Grade - J. Boone: Lauren Ryan; V. Burton: Cecilia Robinson; G. Hampton: Chelsea Rhodes, Geoffrey Ryan

Spring semester President’s Scholars named at Mississippi State University

The following students from The South Reporter readership area are President’s Scholars for the 2005 spring semester at Mississippi State University:

Mollie J. Fant, Robert R. Simpson, both of Holly Springs

Justin R. Presson of Byhalia

Julie J. Sparkman of Clinton

Daniel B. Worsham of Potts Camp

Report News: (662) 252-4261 or
Questions, comments, corrections:
2004, The South Reporter, All Rights Reserved.
No part of this site may be reproduced in any way without permission.
The South Reporter is a member of the Mississippi Press Association.

Web Site managed and maintained by
South Reporter webmasters Linda Jones, Kristian Jones
Web Site Design - The South Reporter

Back | Top of Page