Thursday, May 11, 2005

Holly Springs vote totals certified


Some numbers changed slightly but no winners when the City of Holly Springs Democratic Executive Committee certified election returns on Wednesday morning of last week.

Mark Miller, chairman of the committee, said the Tuesday, May 3, election went “smooth as silk.” He thanked personnel in both the city clerk’s office and the circuit clerk’s office and all election workers for their assistance. He also thanked William Henley, who is retiring, for his many years of service to the committee and the city.

Mayor Andre’ DeBerry was reelected with 980 votes or 55 percent.

There were three challengers. John Paul Carpenter ran second in the race with 438 votes, Hoyt Johnson third with 184 and Toulman Boatwright fourth with 167.

DeBerry won in all four wards. A breakdown in the mayor’s race follows.

  • Ward 1 – DeBerry, 183; Carpenter, 34; Johnson, 16; Boatwright, 9.
  • Ward 2 – DeBerry, 395; Carpenter, 79; Boatwright, 19; Johnson, 18.
  • Ward 3 – DeBerry, 188; Carpenter, 173; Johnson, 90; Boatwright, 71.
  • Ward 4 – DeBerry, 214; Carpenter, 152; Boatwright, 68; Johnson, 60.

This will be DeBerry’s second full term. He previously served as alderman-at-large before being appointed interim mayor upon the death of Eddie Lee Smith in early 2001.

All five city incumbent aldermen also won in the election last week.

Alderman-at-large Tim Liddy had the largest margin of victory, winning by 408 votes (1,077 to 669) over challenger Henry Boyd.

This will be Liddy’s first full term after winning a special election last December.

In Ward 1, Russell Johnson reclaimed his seat with 51 percent of the vote. He got 122, while Dorothy Buck had 88, and Betty Yates received 30.

In Ward 2, Naylond Hayes kept his position on the board by winning 58 percent of the vote. He garnered 294 votes, while Edythe Taylor received 159 and Craig Williamson 57.

Both Johnson and Hayes will begin their second terms.

The two veteran aldermen on the board were also reelected.

In Ward 3, Garrie Colhoun will serve a fourth term. He defeated challenger Mary Clay Brooks 341 to 174.

In Ward 4, Nancy Hutchens will fill her seat on the city’s governing body for a sixth term. She beat challenger Harvey Payne 256 to 236 in the closest contest of election day.

There was an approximate 38 percent voter turnout. The polls closed at 7 p.m. on election night, and unofficial totals (machine vote and absentee ballots) were tallied by about 8 p.m.

A swearing-in for the city elected officials will be scheduled in early July, when their new terms are set to begin.

The city board will appoint the city clerk, which is no longer an elected position. The change was made via a vote of the present board and an adopted city ordinance in June 2003.

City clerk Sandra Young and assistant clerk Lisa Liddy are both retiring, effective June 30. The two are long-time employees at City Hall – Young for 40 years and Liddy for 25. Young is completing her third term as city clerk.

Report News: (662) 252-4261 or
Questions, comments, corrections:
2004, The South Reporter, All Rights Reserved.
No part of this site may be reproduced in any way without permission.
The South Reporter is a member of the Mississippi Press Association.

Web Site managed and maintained by
South Reporter webmasters Linda Jones, Kristian Jones
Web Site Design - The South Reporter

Back | Top of Page