Thursday, May 11, 2005


Students receive awards at teens conference

Holly Springs Intermediate and Junior High students took awards at the Mississippi Technology Teens Conference in April at Decatur.

Pictured at the top are Akia Jones, sponsor, with her students (l-r) front row, Derrick Vaughn, Mareceo Hobson and Jamond Austin; back row, Jamia Riddle, Octavis Wiseman, Diamond McFadden and Desmond LeSure.

Junior High winners from Holly Springs in the picture at the right are (l-r) Troy Adams and Jonathan Selman.

Fifth grade field trip to Jackson

Marshall Academy fifth grade students, teachers and chaperones recently enjoyed a class field trip to Jackson. The group, pictured at the state capitol, also visited the Mississippi Museum of Natural Science, the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and the Planetarium. The students and adults also enjoyed the mall and mystic bowling. Fifth grade teachers who coordinated the trip are Linda Belk and Margaret Brown.

Marshall Academy breaks ground for additions

When students and teachers at Marshall Academy return in the fall they will have more classroom and laboratory space. The school is experiencing growth and more space is needed for that and anticipated growth next year, according to Tommy Gunn, headmaster. The expansion includes two new wings added to front of the main building. A 4,500 square foot addition will add seven new classrooms to accommodate present and future needs in K-4 through first grade, Gunn said. Two new science labs and a storage room will be added on the other end of the main building providing another 2,280 square feet. Construction begins on the science laboratories right after final exams and, when that is completed, the classroom addition will be built. At ground breaking, Gunn thanked the school’s board of directors for the present status of Marshall Academy and for anticipating new needs. Parent Benny Braswell said the additions are a sign that the school is financially stable. “I’m always excited about growth anywhere because it shows people are working and working hard,” he said. Braswell helped organize a field day for students in connection with the ground breaking ceremonies. From left are headmaster Tommy Gunn, Tim Liddy, Lisa Faulkenbery, Jane Autry, Steve Elgin, Carey Crain, elementary principal Diane Greer and architect Bill Wage.

Report News: (662) 252-4261 or
Questions, comments, corrections:
2004, The South Reporter, All Rights Reserved.
No part of this site may be reproduced in any way without permission.
The South Reporter is a member of the Mississippi Press Association.

Web Site managed and maintained by
South Reporter webmasters Linda Jones, Kristian Jones
Web Site Design - The South Reporter

Back | Top of Page