Thursday, May 4, 2005

Mayor, all aldermen reelected


There will be no change in City of Holly Springs government, according to unofficial election totals Tuesday.

Mayor Andre’ DeBerry and incumbent aldermen Tim Liddy, Russell Johnson, Naylond Hayes, Garrie Colhoun and Nancy Hutchens were all reelected.

DeBerry won a second full term as mayor, receiving 55 percent of the vote with three opponents. Totals show DeBerry with 972; John Paul Carpenter with 434; Hoyt Johnson with 182; and Toulman Boatwright with 165.

“I thank the voters for investing in my vision for the city by voting for me,” DeBerry said.

Some projects he said he would like the mayor and board of aldermen to focus on the next four years include downtown development, commercial development in the northwest section and improved career opportunities in the city.

Liddy claimed his first full term as alderman-at-large. He was elected in a special election just four months ago.

Liddy defeated challenger Henry Boyd by 403 votes on Tuesday. Liddy’s total was 1,067 and Boyd’s 664.

“I appreciate everybody who came out and supported me,” Liddy said, “and I hope we can continue the work I’ve been involved with the past four months.”

In Ward 1, Johnson was reelected to a second term with 51 percent of the vote. He received 122 votes, while Dorothy Buck took 87, and Betty Yates got 30.

“It was a tough campaign,” Johnson said. “It’s the first time I’ve ever had an opponent. I had to work for it. I’m happy to be back.”

Hayes handily won reelection to a second term on the board of aldermen in Ward 2, taking 58 percent of the vote. He received 290 votes. Edythe Taylor garnered 157; and Craig Williamson had 56.

“The campaigning was very, very heavy with two opponents,” Hayes said. “I thank all the voters who came out and voted.

“The first four years have been a learning experience, and now I’ve got it all down, and I’m ready to serve the people with knowledge.”

In Ward 3, Colhoun was reelected to a fourth term. He beat Mary Clay Brooks by 168 votes. Colhoun got 340 and Brooks took 172.

“I want to thank all of my supporters for the last 12 years,” Colhoun said, “and I’m looking forward to serving my ward.

“I look forward to work – serving the City of Holly Springs for the next four years.”

In the tightest race of the night, Hutchens was reelected to a sixth term in Ward 4 by just 20 votes. She beat Harvey Payne 253 to 233. She pulled away in the end, thanks to a 27 to 6 advantage in the absentee ballots.

“I’m relieved the day is over,” Hutchens said. “I appreciate my supporters. I hope I can do a good job the next four years, and I will work hard to do a good job.”

She said this sixth term as an alderman will be her last.

Again, all results at presstime Tuesday night were unofficial. The results were scheduled to be certified Wednesday morning.

Voter turnout was less than four years ago. In 2001, 2,284 voted in the mayor’s race. This year, 1,753 voted in the mayor’s race. There are approximately 4,650 registered voters in the city. That means a 38 percent voter turnout for this election.

The newly-elected city board will appoint the city clerk, which is no longer an elected position. The change was made via a vote of the present board and an adopted city ordinance in June 2003.

Report News: (662) 252-4261 or
Questions, comments, corrections:
2004, The South Reporter, All Rights Reserved.
No part of this site may be reproduced in any way without permission.
The South Reporter is a member of the Mississippi Press Association.

Web Site managed and maintained by
South Reporter webmasters Linda Jones, Kristian Jones
Web Site Design - The South Reporter

Back | Top of Page