Thursday, May 4, 2005


DARE graduates

Marshall Academy held its D.A.R.E. graduation ceremonies with fifth grade students last week.

Essay winners pictured with Holly Springs Mayor Andre’ DeBerry (right photo) are (l-r) Bailie Thompson, Michael Farese and Emma Elgin

Fifth grade D.A.R.E. students (top photo) are pictured with Ms. Belk and Ms. Brown, their classroom teachers.

Special guests at the ceremony were DeBerry and Holly Springs Police Chief Patricia Selman.

“We offer a special thanks to Diane Greer, principal, and Tommy Gunn, headmaster, for allowing the Holly Springs Police Department to be a part of their D.A.R.E. curriculum,” said Tamara Jeffries, D.A.R.E. school officer with the department.

Galena honor roll

Mrs. Dobbs First Grade, Principal’s List: Ashley Birmingham, Sherita Brownlee, Jakayle Davis, Jaylen Echols, Jerry Stephenson, Kayla Wooten

Ms. Plunk First Grade, Principal’s List: Keondric Harris, Kenya Morgan, Aaron Sholar

Mrs. Jones Second Grade, Principal’s List: Demetria Blackmon, Kedabrean Davis, Courtney Grimes, Christopher Hardin, Roger Harmon, Daniel Woods

Mrs. Robertson Second Grade, Superintendent’s List: Tearrica Martin; Principal’s List: Eric Churchill, Damarcus Stewart, Corey Grimes

Mrs. J.B. King Third Grade, Principal’s List: Kristopher Cox, Amber Johnson, Jesse Stewart, Shandricka Sessom, Antonio Wilson

Mrs. M. Bolen Fourth Grade, Superintendent’s List: Kyla Griffin; Principal’s List: Tyler Allen, Ashley Richmond, Daivon Milan

Mrs. T. Sartin Fifth Grade, Principal’s List: Coraunta Martin, Zinna Woods, Kianna Sessoms

Mrs. Hitt Seventh Grade, Principal’s List: Tameshia Davis

Mrs. Johnson Eighth Grade, Principal’s List: Bianca Smith.

Beckley to speak at 4-H Banquet

Dr. David L. Beckley, 11th president of Rust College, will deliver the keynote address during the Lessye Lee Davis 4-H Banquet on Saturday, May 7.

The event will begin at 7 p.m. in the Shaw Cafeteria of the R.A. and Ruth M. Brown Mass Communications Building on campus. Tickets are $10 and may be purchased from any member of the committee.

“It is indeed an honor for our club to have Dr. Beckley as our speaker,” said Mary L. Hicks, advisor of the group. “As an alumnus and president of Rust, he is a role model for our youth in the Holly Springs/Marshall County community.”

Dr. Beckley was appointed president of his alma mater in 1993. Before assuming the presidency here, he served six years as president of Wiley College in Marshall, Tx. During his tenure at Wiley, management was improved, more than $10 million in outstanding building bonds were retired, and federal funds for the college increased. One and a half million dollars in operating deficits were also retired and the number of degrees held by faculty increased to more than 50 percent.

Since returning to Mississippi, Dr. Beckley has been elected chair of the Mississippi Association of Independent Colleges, chair of the Member Presidents of the United Negro College Fund (UNCF), to the Board of Directors and Board of Trustees of the Methodist Health Systems, Inc., Memphis, Tenn., and the University Senate of the United Methodist Church, where he chaired the Black College Commission.

Other affiliations include the Board of Directors of the Yocona Area Council Boy Scouts of America, Methodist LeBonheur Healthcare Foundation (1999-2000), and Educational and Institutional Insurance Administrators of the United Methodist Church, Black Methodists for Church Renewal, and United Methodist Senior Services of Mississippi, Inc.

A 1967 graduate of Rust, his 30 years of administrative experience began there as assistant business manager. After serving two years in the Vietnam Conflict, he returned to Rust as director of public relations and alumni affairs. He was promoted to director of institutional advancement and served as interim provost before accepting the presidency at Wiley.

For more information about the banquet, call Mrs. Hicks at 252-5920.

Report News: (662) 252-4261 or
Questions, comments, corrections:
2004, The South Reporter, All Rights Reserved.
No part of this site may be reproduced in any way without permission.
The South Reporter is a member of the Mississippi Press Association.

Web Site managed and maintained by
South Reporter webmasters Linda Jones, Kristian Jones
Web Site Design - The South Reporter

Back | Top of Page