Thursday, April 28, 2005

Election day arrives next Tuesday


It’s election time next week for voters in the city limits of Holly Springs.

The Holly Springs races will be decided in the May primaries – Tuesday, May 3, and then if a runoff is needed, Tuesday, May 17.

All candidates for mayor and aldermen are Democrats; therefore a general election in June will not be necessary.

All voting on May 3 will be conducted at the Holly Springs Fire Station with polls open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. There will be two voting machines available per ward.

Absentee voting for the first primary is now available at City Hall from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. The city clerk’s office on South Memphis Street will also be open Saturday, April 30, from 8 a.m. to 12 noon for absentee voting.

Registered voters can call in and request an absentee ballot via the mail. Those must be returned to the city clerk’s office no later than Monday, May 2, at 5 p.m.

There are approximately 4,650 registered voters in the City of Holly Springs.

Mayoral candidates are Toulman D. (Toulie) Boatwright Jr., John Paul Carpenter, incumbent Andre’ DeBerry and Hoyt Johnson.

Running for alderman-at-large are Henry Boyd Jr. and incumbent Timothy L. Liddy.

Seeking the alderman Ward 1 seat are Dorothy Buck, incumbent Russell L. Johnson and Betty A. Yates.

Candidates for alderman Ward 2 are incumbent Naylond Hayes, Edythe Taylor and Craig Williamson.

Mary Clay Brooks and incumbent Garrie Colhoun will be on the ballot for the alderman Ward 3 position.

Alderman Ward 4 candidates are incumbent Nancy Hutchens and challenger Harvey L. Payne Sr.

The newly-elected city board will appoint the city clerk, which is no longer an elected position. The change was made via a vote of the present board and an adopted city ordinance in June 2003.

Byhalia and Potts Camp municipal races will be decided in the general election on Tuesday, June 7.

Report News: (662) 252-4261 or
Questions, comments, corrections:
2004, The South Reporter, All Rights Reserved.
No part of this site may be reproduced in any way without permission.
The South Reporter is a member of the Mississippi Press Association.

Web Site managed and maintained by
South Reporter webmasters Linda Jones, Kristian Jones
Web Site Design - The South Reporter

Back | Top of Page