Thursday, March 10, 2005

Candidate list set for municipal votes


The races are set for this year’s municipal elections.

This past Friday at 5 p.m. was the qualifying deadline.

Holly Springs

Mayoral candidates in Holly Springs are Toulman D. (Toulie) Boatwright Jr., John Paul Carpenter, incumbent Andre’ DeBerry and Hoyt Johnson.

Running for alderman-at-large are Henry Boyd Jr. and incumbent Timothy L. Liddy.

Seeking the alderman Ward 1 seat are Dorothy Buck, incumbent Russell L. Johnson and Betty A. Yates.

Candidates for alderman Ward 2 are incumbent Naylond Hayes, Edythe Taylor and Craig Williamson.

Mary Clay Brooks and incumbent Garrie Colhoun will be on the ballot for the alderman Ward 3 position.

Alderman Ward 4 candidates are incumbent Nancy Hutchens and challenger Harvey L. Payne Sr.

All candidates are Democrats. There are no Republican or independent candidates.

That means the Holly Springs races will be decided in the May primaries – Tuesday, May 3, and then if a runoff is needed, Tuesday, May 17.


All candidates in Byhalia are running independent. There will be no primaries. The general election will be held Tuesday, June 7.

Incumbent mayor O.R. “Scooter” Dempsey is unopposed.

Candidates for alderman are incumbent Bob Carrington, Derwin Cobb, incumbent Mike Hamblin, Phil Malone, incumbent Richard Minor, Thomas Reagh and Terry Sawyer.

The top five vote-getters will be elected to serve as aldermen.

Potts Camp

All candidates in Potts Camp are also running independent, so there will be no primaries. The general election will be held Tuesday, June 7.

Mayoral candidates are incumbent Jimmie Collins and challenger Robert H. King.

Running for alderman in Potts Camp are incumbent W.H. Bowen, incumbent James C. Westmoreland, incumbent Carol Jean Davis, incumbent Joan Cox, incumbent Al Beard and Casey Mayer.

The five candidates for alderman receiving the most votes will be elected.

Newly-elected municipal officials will take the oath of office in early July.

Report News: (662) 252-4261 or
Questions, comments, corrections:
2004, The South Reporter, All Rights Reserved.
No part of this site may be reproduced in any way without permission.
The South Reporter is a member of the Mississippi Press Association.

Web Site managed and maintained by
South Reporter webmasters Linda Jones, Kristian Jones
Web Site Design - The South Reporter

Back | Top of Page